Why Did My Mobile Notifications Stop?

This could happen for any number of reasons. In most cases, logging out of the app on your device and logging back in will solve the issue. Perhaps changes have been made to your database and the ESC Connections Server needs a refresh.  It could be that your technician's profile or user have been changed and their device needs to be refreshed.  Or perhaps another user is logged into a device with those credentials and those notifications are now being received on that device.  Whatever the reason, there's a few things you can check to get those notifications working properly again. 

Should the tech have received a notification?

A technician will only receive a push notification on their device if the dispatch was assigned directly to that technician and the Date Promised and Time Promised falls within 24 hours of the current time.  This means that a technician will not receive a notification for every dispatch being assigned to them for the following week or beyond.  

Is there another device logged in with that user?

For whatever reason, the technician arrives at work and realizes that they do not have their tablet, so they log in with their phone in order to get the day's work done.  The next day they venture out into the world with their tablet, but it doesn't alert them when a new dispatch is assigned to them for the day.  That's because those notifications are going to their phone.  

This is an easy fix - first, log out of the phone (or previously used device) and then log off of the tablet (or primary device).  Now log back in on the primary device and those notification will be redirected to the primary device.

Are Notifications turned on for that device?

iPhone and iPad users:  

  1. Open Settings.
  2. Scroll down until you find ESC Tech.  Tap on the icon to open it.
  3. Tap on Notifications.
  4. Make sure "Allow Notifications" and all related options are enabled.
  5. Exit Settings.

Android users:

  1. Open the ESC Tech app.
  2. Click the Settings button at the top-right corner of the screen.
  3. Make sure the three boxes under the Notifications head are selected.
  4. Tap the Back button to return to the app.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Still have a question? Try searching here or join an online chat below!

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.